Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Spring. Has. Sprung. And I couldn’t be happier! Spring and Summer collections are being launched left and right all over the beautysphere and I’m here for it! Earlier this week I was rocking bright nails and now I’m getting into the April 2015 Birchbox that’s going to prepare us for warm weather ahead.

beautyprotectorprotectandoil

Beauty Protector Protect & Oil

Spring/ Summer means UV rays and those rays don’t only affect your skin, they can also effect your hair. Birchbox knows what’s up and in the hair product for this month is Beauty Protector Protect & Oil, a light-weight oil that protects against heat, breakage, and UV rays. Protect & Oil has a very pleasant and light fragrance and left my hair feeling shiny. I tend to put light oils in my hair and regularly massage my scalp with lavender oil so I am a fan of any oil that’s not only going to nourish and protect my hair but also one that will do both without leaving my hair feeling heavy, oily, and stringy.

cynthiarowleybeautybrighteningilluminator

Cynthia Rowley Beauty Brightening Illuminator

I haven’t had much luck with highlighters save for Benefit’s Watts Up which I use religiously so I wasn’t expecting much from Cynthia Rowley Beauty Brightening Illuminator. This illumintor produces a shimmery glow that on the right skin tone would look great but it left me looking just a little bit ashy. Ashy is never a good look. I had to play with it a couple of times but with this product I found that a little goes a long way. And the key is to BLEND! You can dab this on your cheekbones, brow bones, nose, or anywhere really that you want to illuminate but I stuck with my brow bones.

supergoopadvancedspf37

Supergoop! Advanced SPF37 Anti-Aging Eye Cream

Supergoop! Advanced SPF37 Anti-Aging Eye Cream intrigued me because I’ve never used an eye cream with SPF, that I know of anyways. Although I have copious amounts of melanin, sunscreen is super important and I learned my lesson three years ago when I got my first sunburn. It sucked, so now I use sunscreen religiously. My only issue, and perhaps you ladies of melanin can offer me some recs on this front, is that no matter how much you rub it in, some sunscreens can leave you looking sort of ashy. If you’ve got any suggestions, help me out! Anyways I was looking forward to using this eye cream with SPF. Not only does it act as an SPF, it reduces dark circles, depuffs, and minimizes fine lines. I didn’t notice any minimization of fine lines but on the days I didn’t get enough sleep and woke up tired and puffy eyed, I noticed my under eye area looked better after applying Supergoop! eye cream. Also I like that this eye cream doesn’t have that super heavy oxide smell a lot of sunblocks and sunscreens have to them.

templespapeacebestillcalmingbalm

Temple Spa Peace Be Still Calming Face & Body Balm

Temple Spa Peace Be Still Calming Face & Body Balm is a part skincare, part aromatherapy balm that nourishes skin and calms the mind. I’m all about aromatherapy. My near daily lavender oil scalp massages are not only a way to moisturize my scalp but also to help unwind from the day and get me in the right mindset before bed. I wouldn’t necessarily call this a balm; it’s pretty thin and has the consistency of lotion as opposed to a balm however that doesn’t take away from the product at all. My hands were moisturized and the smell of the balm was very soothing. For now, this has taken the place of the Eucalyptus hand lotion that I leave on the bathroom counter.

whishshavecream

Whish Shave Cream Shaving Cream

Last but certainly not least in April’s Birchbox is Whish Shave Cream Shaving Cream in Blueberry. I have never used a blueberry fragrance body product before now that I think about it and to be honest I didn’t particularly care for the fragrance. It didn’t stink and wasn’t terrible but it was a bit weird, it made me feel like I was 13 again learning how to shave and using overly scented products from Bonne Belle Lip Smackers. Ahhh those were the days. Anyways Whish Shave Cream is packed with shea butter and as any other shaving cream, you slather on some cream and get to shaving. I found the packaging of this product to be a little awkward as you have to twist off the cap which can be a pain in the shower. Additionally I’m used to foaming creams; Whish Shave Cream came out as more of a lotion which I found either completely ran off before I could shave or clumped in areas. Also it clogged up my razor which was annoying so needless to say I wasn’t a fan of this product but I’m going to pass this off to my fiance. He really liked the smell! All in all this was a great box and there were more hits than misses. Of all of the products I enjoyed the Supergoop! Advanced SPF37 Anti-Aging Eye Cream the most and could definitely see myself buying it after I’ve finished the sample!